New musical direction

Do you play music yourself? Then this is your place-to-be!
quicksilver
Wish You Were Here
New musical direction

Post by quicksilver » Wed May 25, 2016 3:42 pm

I've been playing guitar for 30 years and have been searching for a new direction for over a year now. My interest in music is very wide ranging from obviously Pink Floyd to Waylon Jennings. I love all kinds of music and enjoy playing all kinds of music as well. I put down my Strat in January in favor of my acoustic, and it has reinvigorated me. I've been experimenting with different tunings as well, and that alone has opened up a new door. At some point I know I'll pick up the electric again, but for now I'm happy as hell. I just wish that I could sing :lol:
Thank you PFO
Joined January 2004
Retired October 22, 2014- 1378 posts

Pink Floyd Sept 30, 1987 Milwaukee Cty Stadium
Roger Waters Nov 13, 1987 Milwaukee (Mecca)
Pink Floyd July 3, 1994 Madison
Pink Floyd July 12, 1994 Chicago

Alec Taylor
A Momentary Lapse of Reason

Re: New musical direction

Post by Alec Taylor » Wed May 25, 2016 4:35 pm

I wish we could hear what you're jamming, brother! Was there any sort of motivation or inspiration to switch to acoustic like this? Any new music you came across, or old music you found a new love for? I find personally that music evolution just sort of happens, at least for me. I know a lot of people get comfortable with their own style and coast on it forever, but that's never gonna happen to me, and it looks like it didn't happen to you either! Do you write your own material, or experiment with others?

Aren't I full of questions? :mrgreen:
"A man lies and dreams of green fields and rivers, but awakes to a morning with no reason for waking."

quicksilver
Wish You Were Here

Post by quicksilver » Wed May 25, 2016 6:38 pm